top of page

STARTING AS VIRTUAL FREELANCER


You’re reading this with the thought of becoming a freelancer or the curiosity of what is a freelancer. I for one is intrigue to what kind of business is this because I have patients that are on this job and colleagues who ventured on this. As for me, I’m puzzled on how do they have more free time for their family and having the perks of travelling at the same time having an income.

What then is a freelancer?

A freelancer or for some virtual assistant(VA) is generally self-employed and provides administrative, technical or creative (social) assistance to clients remotely from home office. They usually work for business owners or entrepreneurs and at the moment it’s one of the flourishing career in this digital world.


Whenever I encounter a freelancer, I ask these people who works from home the question-How did you start it?, Where did you start? Most of them will say it’s easy, just go to the website make a freelancing account through Upwork or Online Jobs. But then again I would have the problem ,what will I put in there and what are my skills because I am graduate in a medical field course. Then someone send me lists of what a freelancer or virtual assistant do and to tell you the truth most of it is not familiar with me. I’m still at a lost, what would I place in my resume but then I know it’s not the skills they are looking for because it is more on a hospital based skills not in a freelancing world. At that time I still hesitant in making my Upwork or Online Jobs account because I know my profile is still lacking.


In between deciding to become a freelancer and becoming a freelancer,

I need to prepare to be a freelancer.

So what steps did I make?

1. Contacted the ones who knew about this business.

I went on Facebook and message all the Virtual Assistants that I knew. I said that I would like to venture in this field of business and ask them for help what will I do first and seek their advice.

2. Facebook becomes my go to website.

As I’m always online there I would take the advantage and be useful to it. I joined and like the relevant groups for freelancing and virtual assistant. In their I would read their insights and ask questions.

3. I enroll in a coaching group.

Because of Facebook, I found the page Filipino Virtual Assistance, I’m lucky that I avail their promo. As I might say, it open me to the freelancing world because they will guide and assist you. They will give you insights or overview of the skills of virtual freelancer and how will you do it. Its an opportunity to learn, improve and perfect the skills I needed to becoming a freelancer.


So finally…


My food for thought, becoming a freelancer or virtual assistant in this digital world is not just sitting in front of computer and sipping your coffee then works come to you. When in fact in reality you must really work hard for it, do your own research and never quit. I hate to break it to you, but freelance means working. And I mean really working. Have the attitude that if they can do it, so can you. Becoming a Virtual Assistant, I’m you trusted asset who takes away your frustrations, by completing the task that takes all your time.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

Address:

Bayan Park Village Aurora Hill 

Baguio City, Philippines 2600

Mobile: 09175048926

E-mail: roscelledelacruz08@gmail.com

bottom of page